skip navigation

GW players gather at bench during the game.

GW Announces End of Season Award Nominations

01/29/2020, 11:45am EST
By David Baratta

Coaches set to vote on nominations from each team for awards at ACCHL playoffs.

At the ACCHL playoffs, individual end of season awards are handed out to recognize great individual achievement - both on and off the ice.  Each team is asked to submit nominees for each award.  From these names, the ACCHL first and second all-star teams will also be named.  This year's nominations for position awards are as follows:

Forward of the Year: Alec Yerkovich (Sr - 16GP, 10G, 18A)
Defenseman of the Year: Eddie Tuohy (So - 16GP, 5G, 7A)
Rookie of the Year: Augie Burkhardt (Fr - 16GP, 15G, 17A)
Goalie of the Year: Graham Roy (Fr - 7GP, 6-1 record, 2.71GAA, .916Sv%, 1SO)

In addition, two awards are given for more comprehensive review of the players' achievement throughout the year:

Scholar-Athlete of the Year (Awarded to a sophomore or junior based on academic and professional achievement):
Sam Kirby (Jr) - Assistant Captain; 3.54GPA; Major in Chemistry with a Concentration in Biochemistry; Nationally registered EMT; 40 hours per month as GW  EMERG response group; history of community service

Player of the Year (Awarded to a senior or final-year grad student):
Alec Yerkovich (Sr) - Captain; Player-of-the-week 11/18; Led 14-skater team to a first semester 12-2 ACHA record (ranked as high as #10 in SE) and 6-2 ACCHL record (1st in Capitol division)

The other two awards available are Coach of the Year, which has been won twice before by GW head coach Jon Moynihan, and ACCHL Playoff MVP.  Congratulations to all of our nominees!

Tag(s): News